Table of contents

Tutorial: File Management

Moving, renaming, and deleting files and folder from storage units is a common process in any production. This small guide will outline the basics of handling files and folders and ensure the synchronisation process processes them properly.

File Deletion

The file deletion process will depend on the flow type associated with your storage unit. For more information on data flows, see the relevant article.

Single direction synchronisation

In cases of single direction synchronisation, simply delete your files on your storage unit, then add the rsync option -- delete in the rsync option box under the parameters tab of the relevant channels. Your choices will be automatically propagated throughout the connected system.

Multi direction synchronisation

In cases of multidirectional synchronisation, you must eiter :

Moving a File

SyncPlanet does not recognise files being moved. Instead, it will assume that the file in the destination folder is a new file. By default, a copy of the file will remain in the source folder.

To actually move a file, you will need to first make a copy of the file in the destination folder, then delete the original in the source folder, following the instructions outlined in the file deletion section above.

Renaming a File

As with moving files, SyncPlanet will assume that the renamed file on the folder is new. By default, a copy of the file with the original name will remain.

To properly rename a file, you will need to delete the original after having made a copy with the new name.

Additonal Questions

If this article doesn't answer your issue or if you've encountered a problem while trying to delete some files, check out Troubleshooting. Additionally, you can contact us for tailored support.